Keeping Children Safe in Education

What is the status of this guidance?

This is statutory guidance from the Department for Education issued under Section 175 of the Education Act 2002, the Education (Independent School Standards) Regulations 2014 and the Non-Maintained Special Schools (England) Regulations 2015. Schools and colleges must have regard to it when carrying out their duties to safeguard and promote the welfare of children. This means that they should comply with it unless exceptional circumstances arise.

About this guidance

This document contains information on what schools and colleges should do and sets out the legal duties with which schools and colleges must comply in order to keep children safe. It should be read alongside statutory guidance Working together to safeguard children, and departmental advice What to do if you are worried a child is being abused- Advice for practitioners.

Unless otherwise specified, ‘school’ means all schools whether maintained, nonmaintained or independent schools, including academies and free schools, alternative provision academies, maintained nursery schools1 and pupil referral units. ‘College’ means further education colleges and sixth-form colleges as established under the Further and Higher Education Act 1992, and relates to their responsibilities towards children under the age of 18, but excludes 16-19 academies and free schools (which are required to comply with relevant safeguarding legislation by virtue of their funding agreement).

Who this guidance is for

This statutory guidance should be read and followed by:

governing bodies of maintained schools (including maintained nursery schools) and colleges;

proprietors of independent schools (including academies and free schools), alternative provision academies and non-maintained special schools; 2 and

management committees of pupil referral units (PRUs)

You can read the guidance here

Contacting the School

Address:Falconbrook Primary School
Wye Street
SW11 2LX

Telephone:020 7228 7706

Fax:020 7228 0803

HeadteacherStella Smith

Deputy HeadSarah Pieniek-Jones

Chair of GovernorsSteven Jones

Business ManagerKate Anthony

SENCOSheila Tugwell